contact us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right.

Name *
Name

147 Wappoo Creek Drive, Suite 400
Charleston SC 29412

843.762.2222

BLOG_BANNER_WEB.jpg

Blog

Filtering by Tag: museum

JOIN US! JAMES ISLAND PUBLIC CHARETTE

Mez Joseph

PUBLIC CHARETTE! Monday, July 22, 6:00 – 7:30pm, James Island Town Hall – 1122 Dills Buff Rd.

Come join the Town of James Island as we gather information and explore various possible uses for the current Camp Road Library building located at 1248 Camp Rd. Various Community groups and Organizations
will be on-hand to participate in the discussion, including theChildren's Museum of the Lowcountry, the James Island History Commission, the James Island Arts Committee, the Neighborhood Council, James Island Pride and the James Island Children’s Commission.

To submit suggestions online, email comments to info@jamesislandsc.us

Wharton Esherick Museum

Mez Joseph

Liollio's Liz Corr and husband, Brian Leounis, visited the Wharton Esherick Museum during a recent trip to visit family in Pennsylvania. The tour of his home included his early studio, loft living space and many pieces of furniture and art.

Wharton Esherick began his career as a painter but soon realized his talents as a wood worker. He created unique sculptures and furniture throughout his career. He worked primarily in wood, especially applying the principles of sculpture to common utilitarian objects. Consequently, he is best known for his sculptural furniture and furnishings. Esherick was recognized in his lifetime by his peers as the dean of American craftsmen for his leadership in developing non-traditional designs, and encouraging and inspiring artists/craftspeople by example. Esherick’s influence continues to be seen in the work of current artisans. 

His home and studio, in Malvern PA, were his largest piece of art. Especially interesting are the curved stairs to his loft living space, which were once disassembled for display at the New York World’s Fair. The buildings evolved over forty years, as Esherick lived and worked there. He continued working on the studio until his death in 1970. In 1972 the studio was converted into the Wharton Esherick Museum. The property was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1993.

For more information about the museum, visit whartonesherickmuseum.org/